Networking Until It Hurts

I know, here he goes one more time talking about making friends and influencing people in the job search!  There is no bigger payday than using your business associates and friends to get your name out to the decision-makers who can influence your future.  Unbeknownst to me recently, numerous contacts made phone calls on my behalf in regards to a opening that I am very interested in.  You cannot buy this kind of support though I guess I do owe each and every one of them a drink next time I see them.

Your brand, your credentials, your credibility are all on the line when you apply for a position and hope to discuss that possibility with the selection committee.  Though your contacts are obviously proponents of yours, it is vital for your candidacy for these individuals to get the message out that you are the right person for the job.  It is a sticky wicket because you don’t want to overkill the deciders with your attributes, but external posititive comments are always a plus.

It speaks highly of your contacts when they unilaterally contact potential employers about you.  It also speaks the world of you that you have such wonderful associates who will spend the time reassuring you and the world that you once again can be a beneficial factor in the community.  Because it was getting a bit much, I did request two individuals who informed me that they were going to put in a good word for me to hold back.  I was getting a bit sensitive on too many waving the flag for me – I guess they all want success for me and my family!

Though I am quite comforted and pleased by all the attention these business associates and friends gave my candidacy I would encourage all of us to duplicate this effort on as many occasions as possible.  I know it takes time out of your busy day to extend a hand, but what better chore in life than helping a friend achieve success?

I would also encourage all to also give accolades for individuals who have served you well in your everyday interaction.  There is currently an advertising campaign by Liberty Mutual acknowledging the kindness and positive tasks of strangers in their daily lives.  How better to encourage future kindness than by acknowledging for all to hear and see what has been done in your name.

We constantly complain about poor or nonexistent customer service; we see it all the time on the internet and speakers are making a fortune highlighting those who do it right.  There are many more out there besides Zappos and Nordstrom who should be acknowledged for their exceptional customer service, but do you ever hear of them?  And why should they be the exception, rather than the rule?

We have unfortunately lost a generation of customers who have not been exposed to customer service.  This lost generation of consumers who accept fast food, checkout lines and 30 minute nuisances on the phone from a faraway land no nothing but poor service and a lack of sincere kindness to their fellow man.

I know it is an old expectation and there have been too many life experiences for me that have tried my approach, but I still believe in Treating your fellow man the way that you would like to be treated!  Be extravagant with your compliments and make sure you recognize the positive in all (I know, for some you know that may not be easy).  Besides lowering your stress level, such a deed will help others and will come back to assist you many times over.

Not all of you may have as many friends and business associates as others but this is your opportunity to extend the hand and so that in the attempt to make yourself more marketable, you will certainly be assisting many others to do the same.

Dan Borschke is a Certified Association Executive who has been a CEO for 3 distinct trade associations in his career.  He is one of only 230 Association Executives worldwide who has been granted the prestigious designation of Fellow by the American Society of Association Executives.  He currently is between positions and has written more than 50,000 words or 95 blog postings on the topics of job search and career transition.  He can be reached at:  dborschke@yahoo.com.

Copyright:  MMXI. Reprint of this article is permitted if the above paragraph is included.

One thought on “Networking Until It Hurts

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

