The Last Chapter Can Now Be Written

For those who have been counting, this is the 140th post of the “In Transition: A Search For A New Home” blog.  Thanks to WordPress and Posterous I have had the opportunity to touch all angles of what it takes to search for a new position in these difficult times while also hopefully providing some experiences and techniques that may assist others in finding their new employment opportunity.

I must admit that this blog has been therapeutic and cathartic.  It has truly been a remarkable opportunity to share with all what has become a nearly daily chapter of my life.   Though I have heard from numerous readers who have found value in what I have written, I must admit that I believe above all, that the 100,000 words have been personally beneficial because more often than not, this blog gave me the motivation to persevere.

What is so startling is the number of people who I actually heard from; prompted by these posts.  I have interacted with numerous people who are in much worse states than any of us would like to admit exists in today’s society.  Individuals who have come to the point that though they are multi-talented have currently nowhere to turn.  Individuals who not so long ago where at the peak of their game, now finding themselves worrying about where tomorrow is going to take them.  Individuals who had everything going for themselves until a downturn in the economy made the journey so much more difficult.

I am sincerely overwhelmed if my words have assisted any of those individuals who find themselves in such a predicament.  It is the least any of us can do during these trying times.  I encourage others to provide a helping hand to those who aren’t looking for a hand-out but encouragement and understanding for a condition that you too could be experiencing, but by the “Grace of God.”

If I have learned anything during this transition, it has been perspective and humility.  Perspective for what is important in life and the balance of work and family.  It is absolutely amazing how simple things can make your day and how a phone call or a visit from friends and family can make your life so much better.  Thankfully we aren’t talking death or illness here, but having people around us who encourage and care can take us all a long way toward that ultimate goal post!

The reason why I am talking in the past tense is that I am pleased (who am I kidding, I am excited beyond belief!) to announce that starting next month I will be returning to my native Chicago for a new position with a dynamic and robust trade association.  It will be great to once again roam the streets of Chicago (except those January days when you need to cross the Michigan Avenue Bridge) and to be able to work side-by-side with a creative and encouraging industry leadership and a very capable and professional staff who are yearning for a new energy that will result in an even greater organization and additional value-added benefits for the membership.

Though demands will certainly be placed upon me in the next few months in my new position, I look forward to continuing to write about the topics that seem to have found a home with so many readers.  I thank you for your support and encouragement and this is far from saying goodbye but rather it’s a first chapter in an entirely new book!

Dan Borschke is a Certified Association Executive (CAE) who has been a CEO for 3 distinct trade associations in his career.  He is one of only 230 Association Executives worldwide who has been granted the prestigious designation of Fellow (FASAE) by the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) since 1986.  He currently is between positions and has taken the opportunity to author more than 100,000 words or 140 blog postings on the topics of job search, career transition and association management.

2 thoughts on “The Last Chapter Can Now Be Written

  1. Well done, Dan. Your journey has provided insight and inspiration. Your openess has been a gift to the community, and for that we should all be grateful. Every current association CEO is a potential future former association CEO. For that reason, we all owe you a debt of gratitude for shining light on the ups and downs and ins and outs of transition. I am delighted you have found the next chapter in your journey. I look forward to seeing you, shivering with the rest of us in Chicago this winter!

    • Thanks Gary. It certainly has been an experience. I look forward to providing insight and my perspective on the topic in the future. Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

